Meet the Governors

Highfurlong governors, in partnership with the Head Teacher, provide the overall strategic lead for the school. Our governing board includes in its membership parents, people from industry and other professionals. The full governing board meets once a term.  The Board has in place statutory committees, with sub-committees (Finance and Resources and Learning and Outcomes).  These committees meet at least once termly.

The governors at Highfurlong School work collaboratively with leaders in school. They are responsible for making sure the school continues to provide outstanding quality education for all pupils. Ensuring there is a relentless drive to raise educational standards in school is a key priority. This happens when there are high expectations of what pupils can achieve.
Governors promote effective ways of teaching and learning when setting the school aims and policies. They do this together with the Head Teacher, who is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school.

The Governing Body:

  • is accountable for the performance of the school to parents and the wider community
  • plans the school’s future direction
  • selects the head teacher
  • makes decisions on the school’s budget and staffing including the performance management policy
  • ensures the agreed curriculum is well taught 
  • decides how the school can encourage pupils’ spiritual, moral and cultural development
  • makes sure the school provides for all pupils

Highfurlong School governors take an active role in the life of the school.  All members have been elected to the board by quorate vote of the governing board, with the exception of staff governors, who are elected by school staff. 

Christine Russell

Chair of Governors Co opted Governor

Helen Brough

Co Vice Chair
Co opted Governor

Nicola Farrer

Co Vice Chair
Co opted Governor

Susan Strother

Local Authority Governor

Chantelle Altham

Staff Governor

Erica Smith

Co opted Governor

Michelle Stewart

Parent Governor

Janette Weafer

Co opted Governor

Elaine Cluet

Associate Member

Andy Martin

Associate Member